Keynote Speakers of ICCSE 2020

Professor Dimitris Metaxas

Distinguished Professor

Department of Computer Science

Rutgers The State University of New Jersey

IEEE Fellow, AIMBE Fellow, MICCAI Fellow

Keynote:Scalable and Explainable Analytics for Computer Vision and Medical Applications

Dr. Dimitris Metaxas is a Distinguished Professor in the Department of Computer Science at Rutgers University, and director of the Center for Computational Biomedicine, Imaging and Modeling and the NSF IUCRC CARTA Center.
Dr. Metaxas has been conducting research towards the development of formal Data Science methods upon which AI, machine learning, computer vision, medical image analysis and computer graphics can advance synergistically.
In AI, machine learning and computer vision, new methods have been developed for understandable machine learning, real time data analytics, dynamic data driven application systems, 3D human motion analysis, human behaviors and intent recognition, scene understanding and segmentation, surveillance, object recognition, sparsity and biometrics in the wild.
In medical and biological image analysis new data science methods have been developed for material modeling and shape estimation of internal body parts (e.g., lungs) from MRI, SPAMM and CT data, a pioneering framework for cardiac motion analysis and for linking the anatomical and physiological models of the human body, cancer diagnosis, histopathology, cell tracking, cell type analysis and mouse behavior analysis.
In computer graphics, the Navier-Stokes methodology for Fluid animations in the mid 90s was introduced, based on which the water scenes in the movie “Antz” were created in 1998. Since then, new dynamic data science techniques for modeling fluid phenomena, and control theoretic techniques for automating and improving the animation of articulated (e.g., humans) objects.
Dr. Metaxas has published over 700 research articles in these areas and has graduated 56 PhD students. Dr. Metaxas has received 8 patents and numerous best paper awards for his work on vision, medical imaging and fluid modeling. The above research has been funded by NSF, NIH, ONR, AFOSR, DHS, DARPA and the ARO.
Dr Metaxas was awarded a Fulbright Fellowship in 1986, is a recipient of an NSF Research Initiation and Career awards, an ONR YIP, is a Fellow of  IEEE, a Fellow of the MICCAI Society and a Fellow of the  American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineers.

Details can be found at

Professor Qingfu Zhang

Chair Professor of Computational Intelligence, IEEE Fellow

Department of Computer Science

City University of Hong Kong

Hong Kong

Keynote:Decomposition Multiobjective Optimization and Pareto Multitask Learning

Many real-world optimization problems are multiobjective by nature. Multiobjective evolutionary algorithms are a widely used algorithmic framework for solving multiobjective optimization problems. In this talk, I will briefly explain the basic ideas behind decomposition based multiobjective evolutionary algorithm (MOEA/D). Multitask learning can be naturally modelled as a multiobjective optimization problem. I will introduce a recent application of MOEA/D on multitask learning.

Details can be found at

Professor Ming C. Lin

University of Maryland at College Park

Elizabeth Stevinson Iribe Chair of Computer Science

Distinguished University Professor

ACM Fellow, IEEE Fellow, Eurograpics Fellow

Keynote: Reconstructing Reality: From Physical World to Virtual Environments

Ming C. Lin is currently Distinguished University Professor and Elizabeth Stevinson Iribe Chair of Computer Science at the University of Maryland College Park and John R. & Louise S. Parker Distinguished Professor Emerita of Computer Science at the University of North Carolina (UNC), Chapel Hill. She was also an Honorary Visiting Chair Professor at Tsinghua University. She obtained her B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science from the University of California, Berkeley. She received several honors and awards, including the NSF Young Faculty Career Award in 1995, Honda Research Initiation Award in 1997, UNC/IBM Junior Faculty Development Award in 1999, UNC Hettleman Award for Scholarly Achievements in 2003, Beverly W. Long Distinguished Professorship 2007-2010, UNC WOWS Scholar 2009-2011, IEEE VGTC Virtual Reality Technical Achievement Award in 2010, and many best paper awards at international conferences. She is a Fellow of ACM, IEEE, and Eurographics and a member of ACM SIGGRAPH Academy.

Her research interests include computational robotics, haptics, physically-based modeling, virtual reality, sound rendering, and geometric computing. She has (co-)authored more than 300 refereed publications in these areas and co-edited/authored four books. She has served on hundreds of program committees of leading conferences and co-chaired dozens of international conferences and workshops. She is currently a member of Computing Research Association-Women (CRA-W) Board of Directors, Chair of IEEE Computer Society (CS) Fellows Committee, Chair of IEEE CS Computer Pioneer Award, and Chair of ACM SIGGRAPH Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation Award. She is a former member of IEEE CS Board of Governors, a former Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics (2011-2014), a former Chair of IEEE CS Transactions Operations Committee, and a member of several editorial boards. She also has served on several steering committees and advisory boards of international conferences, as well as government and industrial technical advisory committees.

Details can be found at