Keynote Speakers of ICCSE 2019

Professor Clarence de Silva

Fellow of IEEE, ASME, ASI, CAE, & Royal Society of Canada

Professor and Senior Canada Research Chair in Mechatronics and Industrial Automation

The University of British Columbia, Canada

Clarence W. de Silva, P.Eng., Fellow ASME, Fellow IEEE, and Fellow Canadian Academy of Engineering, Fellow Royal Society of Canada Academic Qualifications: Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA, 1978 Ph.D., University of Cambridge, England, 1998 D.Eng. (Honorary), University of Waterloo, Canada, 2008 Appointments: Senior Canada Research Chair in Mechatronics and Industrial Automation, Professorial Fellow Peter Wall Scholar NSERC-BC Packers Professor of Industrial Automation Mobil Endowed Chair Professor Honorary Chair Professor Awards: Paynter Outstanding Investigator Award and Takahashi Education Award, ASME Dynamic Systems & Control Division; Killam Research Prize; Outstanding Engineering Educator Award, IEEE Canada; Lifetime Achievement Award, World Automation Congress; IEEE Third Millennium Medal; Meritorious Achievement Award, Association of Professional Engineers of BC; Outstanding Contribution Award, IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society. Fellowships: Lilly Fellow; NASA-ASEE Fellow; Senior Fulbright Fellow to Cambridge University; Fellow of the Advanced Systems Institute of BC; Killam Fellow; Erskine Fellow. Editorial Boards: 14 journals including IEEE Trans. Control System Technology and ASME Journal of Dynamic Systems, Measurement & Control; Editor-in-Chief, International Journal of Control and Intelligent Systems; Editor-in-Chief, International Journal of Knowledge-Based Intelligent Engineering Systems; Senior Technical Editor, Measurements and Control; Regional Editor, North America, Engineering Applications of Artificial Intelligence—IFAC International Journal of Intelligent Real-Time Automation; and Management Committee, IEEE-ASME Transaction in Mechatronics. Publications: 23 technical books, 19 edited books, 51 book chapters, 243 journal articles, and 268 conference papers

Details can be found at

Professor Dinesh Manocha

AAAI Fellow,IEEE Fellow

Professor of Computer Science and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

University of Maryland, USA

Dinesh Manocha is Paul Chrisman-Iribe Chair in Computer Science & Electrical-Computer Engineering at University of Maryland College Park. His research interests include virtual environments, physically-based modeling, and robotics. His group has developed a number of packages for multi-agent simulation, robot planning, and physics-based modeling that are standard in the field and licensed to more than 60 commercial vendors. He has published more than 510 papers & supervised 36 PhD dissertations. He is an inventor of 9 patents, which are licensed to industry. He is a Fellow of AAAI, AAAS, ACM, and IEEE and received Distinguished Alumni Award from IIT Delhi. He was a co-founder of Impulsonic, a developer of physics-based audio simulation technologies, which was acquired by Valve Inc in November 2016.

Details can be found at

Professor Tamal Krishna Dey

Fellow ACM, Fellow IEEE

Department of Computer Science and Engineering

The Ohio State University USA

Tamal K. Dey is a professor of computer science at The Ohio State University where he is currently serving as the Interim Chair of the CSE department. His research interest includes computational geometry, computational topology and their applications to geometric modeling and data analysis. He finished his PhD from Purdue University in 1991. Prior to joining OSU, he held academic positions at University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India, and Max-Planck Institute, Germany. He has (co)authored two books, "Curve and surface reconstruction: Algorithms with Mathematical Analysis”, published by Cambridge University Press and "Delaunay Mesh Generation" published by CRC Press. (Co)author of more than 200 scientific articles, Dey is an IEEE and ACM Fellow. He serves in various editorial and executive boards and routinely gives invited lectures at various academic forums. He leads the Jyamiti research group at OSU and heads the recent NSF sponsored TRIPODS Phase I Institute at OSU.

Details can be found at